Find's Treasure Forums

Welcome to Find's Treasure Forums, Guests!

You are viewing this forums as a guest which limits you to read only status.

Only registered members may post stories, questions, classifieds, reply to other posts, contact other members using built in messaging and use many other features found on these forums.

Why not register and join us today? It's free! (We don't share your email addresses with anyone.) We keep email addresses of our users to protect them and others from bad people posting things they shouldn't.

Click here to register!

Need Support Help?

Cannot log in?, click here to have new password emailed to you

Changed email? Forgot to update your account with new email address? Need assistance with something else?, click here to go to Find's Support Form and fill out the form.

Misadventure on the Reservoir Dog!!!

Micheal_R

Staff member
As many of you know, I did some commercial diving for a living. I did this over a period of several years, and the jobs were all varied and fascinating. One of these jobs entailed diving for sea urchins. For those who have not read about this period of my life, I will relate some of the techniques used. As is to be expected, there is a season in which you may harvest urchins. Of course, it is in the winter and the spring, the worst of seasons possible in terms of weather. There was a rotating crew, but the core number in the crew was three. Sometimes we would have up to five people on board. This let us have three or four divers in the water and one tender running the boat. The tenders

the river runs around 6mph and that is tough. You can hold on but never in a million years swim against it. If we see something interesting on the bottom, a bottle etc, we have to grab something and hold on.

along the face of the reef off Cozumel there is a stiff current too, nothing like the river though and we make it work for us. Saves a lot of swimming.