Find's Treasure Forums

Welcome to Find's Treasure Forums, Guests!

You are viewing this forums as a guest which limits you to read only status.

Only registered members may post stories, questions, classifieds, reply to other posts, contact other members using built in messaging and use many other features found on these forums.

Why not register and join us today? It's free! (We don't share your email addresses with anyone.) We keep email addresses of our users to protect them and others from bad people posting things they shouldn't.

Click here to register!

Need Support Help?

Cannot log in?, click here to have new password emailed to you

Changed email? Forgot to update your account with new email address? Need assistance with something else?, click here to go to Find's Support Form and fill out the form.

What size of waves do you battle?

YOHOHO

I'm fairly new to beach detecting and have stayed on the dry sand with my DFX, but I really want to enter the water. I just need to get another detector...

I'm in Redondo Beach (Southern California) and was wondering what size of waves do you all battle? I've seen reference to heavy surf and such, but what is "heavy surf"? I guess I'm just trying to get a general frame of reference since I see many East Coast postings... Are you dodging surfers? Rogue waves? Or consistent pounding?

Thanks so much!

Here is one from the archives, circa '05. Not too rough, but you get knocked around a bit, I like it!
[attachment 127176 IMG_0987.JPG]

I'm near east coast.
I don't get nearly as many hours in the water as do many here on the forum do since I only get a couple weekends and a one week vacation at the beach a year and am starting only my third year with a waterproof detector, but here goes: