Find's Treasure Forums

Welcome to Find's Treasure Forums, Guests!

You are viewing this forums as a guest which limits you to read only status.

Only registered members may post stories, questions, classifieds, reply to other posts, contact other members using built in messaging and use many other features found on these forums.

Why not register and join us today? It's free! (We don't share your email addresses with anyone.) We keep email addresses of our users to protect them and others from bad people posting things they shouldn't.

Click here to register!

Need Support Help?

Cannot log in?, click here to have new password emailed to you

Changed email? Forgot to update your account with new email address? Need assistance with something else?, click here to go to Find's Support Form and fill out the form.

Silver vs Cibola

jnstrom

Im a total newbie but have read a ton of great reviews on these two MDs. If you were in my shoes starting out which one would you get and why?

In addition, What accessories should I get when purchasing my MD. I live in WA so I have salt water beaches that I would love to search. I want to look mostly for coins and jewelry. Where is a good place to purchase a tesoro? I like Kellyco but they dont carry Tesoro.

Please help me out!

Hi jnstrom. Most all of the md vets on this forum will say much the same
things for newbies to learn.
>1.. Many detectors are capable, but HOW they're used and WHERE,
are the most important aspects.

>2..The majority of detectors are the VLF type, so that an effective
discrimination mode can be utilized. Unfortunately, VLF's don't perform
very well on wet salt beach sand, because the salt causes a "capacitance"
effect on the electromagnetic (EM) field transmitted from the coil, which
makes the ground act like a big sheet of iron. The wetter the sand the
greater the effect ( a capacitor is a circuit element that holds an electric
charge until it receives a command to release it). But a VLF will work OK