Find's Treasure Forums

Welcome to Find's Treasure Forums, Guests!

You are viewing this forums as a guest which limits you to read only status.

Only registered members may post stories, questions, classifieds, reply to other posts, contact other members using built in messaging and use many other features found on these forums.

Why not register and join us today? It's free! (We don't share your email addresses with anyone.) We keep email addresses of our users to protect them and others from bad people posting things they shouldn't.

Click here to register!

Need Support Help?

Cannot log in?, click here to have new password emailed to you

Changed email? Forgot to update your account with new email address? Need assistance with something else?, click here to go to Find's Support Form and fill out the form.

Notching iron out....

beebiz

As some of you know, I am brand new to metal detecting... haven't even gotten my new F2 yet! At nearly 50 years old, it would seem some waiting time wouldn't be hard for me. But, daaaaaaang!! It's worse than it was when I was a kid waiting on Christmas!!!!!!!!!

Though I don't have a detector yet, I still have a question. I know that if I notch out iron, the F2 will no longer pick up nails, nuts, bolts, and other such "trash." But, are there any of the "good" items that I will loos also?? The reason I asked is that I am trying to get permission to detect a couple of vacant lots in town. Each had and old house standing on it. One of the houses burned almost to the ground and the other one was torn down. I figured I should notch out the iron because of nails and such. But, I didn't want to do that if doing so could cause me to miss something of interest/value!

Thanks in advance for any advice you have for me!!

Robert