Find's Treasure Forums

Welcome to Find's Treasure Forums, Guests!

You are viewing this forums as a guest which limits you to read only status.

Only registered members may post stories, questions, classifieds, reply to other posts, contact other members using built in messaging and use many other features found on these forums.

Why not register and join us today? It's free! (We don't share your email addresses with anyone.) We keep email addresses of our users to protect them and others from bad people posting things they shouldn't.

Click here to register!

Need Support Help?

Cannot log in?, click here to have new password emailed to you

Changed email? Forgot to update your account with new email address? Need assistance with something else?, click here to go to Find's Support Form and fill out the form.

It is finally time,,, 1350 or 1500 or MXT or ?

Icehouse

I would first like to say hello to everyone. I am new to this hobby but it has always perked my interest for a long time. I am 33 yrs old and live in SE wisconsin next to lake michigan and I'm in the market for my first metal detector.

I have been searching the internet forums recently trying to get pointed in the right direction as far as which brand/model of metal detector is going to suit my needs best. I am interested in coin/jewlery hunting on land and also on freshwater beaches.

I am very happy to have found this forum and the wealth of information here. From a lot of searching here and abroad and with a 500-800 budget I have concluded on three models of detectors that I "think" may suit me well. These are the Garrett 1350, Garrett 1500 or the whites MXT. There seems to be a lot of praise for the 1350 and I wonder if maybe I should spend the extra coin on the 1500 but I just do not know if I would benefit any from doing so. Likewise there is much praise for the whites MXT but I seem to occasionally read that this machine is not ideally suited for coin hunting as it's blood line lies with gold.