Find's Treasure Forums

Welcome to Find's Treasure Forums, Guests!

You are viewing this forums as a guest which limits you to read only status.

Only registered members may post stories, questions, classifieds, reply to other posts, contact other members using built in messaging and use many other features found on these forums.

Why not register and join us today? It's free! (We don't share your email addresses with anyone.) We keep email addresses of our users to protect them and others from bad people posting things they shouldn't.

Click here to register!

Need Support Help?

Cannot log in?, click here to have new password emailed to you

Changed email? Forgot to update your account with new email address? Need assistance with something else?, click here to go to Find's Support Form and fill out the form.

Interesting email concerning the Sovereign Elite

Jim Vokes NY

G'day Jim,
I am relatively new at the detecting game as I have had my Sovereign Elite for 2 years now and I love reading tips on how to get extra performance out of this amazing machine. I was at a beach here in Brisbane (Australia) a little while ago when I noticed a strange thing; The beach has a clay base about 15" to 24" down. Above that is heavy, black sand mixed with rocks and shells. I was hunting in "disc" and was only getting the occasional null in the threshold and out of boredom I decided to dig them anyway. Imagine my surprise when out popped an old gold ring!! Sure enough, there was very little iron on this old beach but the old targets had sunk down and settled on the clay base and would only give a null, that was all the machine could manage. Now I use all metal mode on this beach and dig everything as I know I'm on the limit of the detector's depth. I've found over 20 old gold rings this way as well as loads of old (for Australia) coins from the 1910s 20s and 30s. It really goes against all I've heard about signals in discriminate mode.
Cheers, Bob Hirst

Hi Robert,