Find's Treasure Forums

Welcome to Find's Treasure Forums, Guests!

You are viewing this forums as a guest which limits you to read only status.

Only registered members may post stories, questions, classifieds, reply to other posts, contact other members using built in messaging and use many other features found on these forums.

Why not register and join us today? It's free! (We don't share your email addresses with anyone.) We keep email addresses of our users to protect them and others from bad people posting things they shouldn't.

Click here to register!

Need Support Help?

Cannot log in?, click here to have new password emailed to you

Changed email? Forgot to update your account with new email address? Need assistance with something else?, click here to go to Find's Support Form and fill out the form.

Here is a story I first posted in 2002 about diving in the St Clair River

Royal

Diving the Trumble

I have been diving for many years. I started about 24 years ago and have pretty much done every type you can do here in Michigan and a bit in the Caribbean, Bonaire, Cozumel, Costa Rica, etc.
Here in Michigan diving varies a lot. The water is generally not very clear and is cold. Even in the summer, you get below the thermocline (about 20 ft) and it is cold. Wet suit cold. It is not big deal as we are used to it and prepare for it. As the weather gets colder in the fall, we usually switch to dry suits which are pretty warm.

I have done a bit of ice diving over the years. It can be fun but is a lot of work. The experience is something of a confidence builder and just beautiful but to do it right takes a bit of planning. You must have a partner and a safety diver etc. I did it alone one time, which was not very smart, which is another story. I do 95% of my diving alone but it should never be done under a foot of ice! :0( I think I have told that story before but I can not find it, if I saved it.