Find's Treasure Forums

Welcome to Find's Treasure Forums, Guests!

You are viewing this forums as a guest which limits you to read only status.

Only registered members may post stories, questions, classifieds, reply to other posts, contact other members using built in messaging and use many other features found on these forums.

Why not register and join us today? It's free! (We don't share your email addresses with anyone.) We keep email addresses of our users to protect them and others from bad people posting things they shouldn't.

Click here to register!

Need Support Help?

Cannot log in?, click here to have new password emailed to you

Changed email? Forgot to update your account with new email address? Need assistance with something else?, click here to go to Find's Support Form and fill out the form.

Detecting along side rail lines

relic-hunter

Hello all, I am kind of new to detecting and was wondering if any one hunts along abandoned or active rail lines. I just bought my first detector and have hit the local beach twice. I found several clad coins and some trash. So that is my experience so far. I thought maybe being that a large number of rail lines were built back in the latter half of the 1800's they might turn up some interesting relics. Any thoughts?

Ken

n/t

Old train stations are good. Still a lot of trash. Cop swill chase you away in the name of home land security If you go near the tracks.

I wondered about that too. I have an old abandoned line behind my home,the rails have
been long ago removed. Just didnt know if the finds would be worth the effort. Since they
are so close , when the ground thaws I think I'll give it a shot,who knows might be some
interesting finds :shrug:

Terri

I do know of some who have done it and with some nice relic success. They searched beside the tracks and alone lines that had troop movement and around the places where the trains stopped. This was some years ago, though. HH jim tn