Find's Treasure Forums

Welcome to Find's Treasure Forums, Guests!

You are viewing this forums as a guest which limits you to read only status.

Only registered members may post stories, questions, classifieds, reply to other posts, contact other members using built in messaging and use many other features found on these forums.

Why not register and join us today? It's free! (We don't share your email addresses with anyone.) We keep email addresses of our users to protect them and others from bad people posting things they shouldn't.

Click here to register!

Need Support Help?

Cannot log in?, click here to have new password emailed to you

Changed email? Forgot to update your account with new email address? Need assistance with something else?, click here to go to Find's Support Form and fill out the form.

ACE 250 - Is it a coin or is it a nail

radiant777

Hello,

I'm a newbie to the metal detecting world and a new owner of a ACE 250. I've been practicing with the detector in the all metal mode for the past week. Been just practicing in the back yard so far. Finding alot of nails, foil and other metal junk. I did manage to find a penny though but I have run across an issue every now and then when I have detected an object. I pass the detector over the object to the left and the display states that it is a nail and when I pass over it to the right it reads as a coin. Back and forth getting two different readings. I dig and there is no coin. Mainly junk I find. Is this because the make up of the metal is very similar to eachother?

Gary

That would be a sign of junk (good target only one way) but sometimes you can get fooled. A coin lying slightly off vertical will give you the same effect. If you aren`t quite sure, dig it anyways, as it costs you nothing. :)